How many Belladones is too many?

Thank you to all of you that left constructive feedback on my last post.  I am going to try to alter the neckline on the striped version and will try styling them differently. I’ll update more on that once I have had a chance to experiment.

Now returning to one of my favourite patterns, the Belledone in a sweet floral.

IMG_3725
The fabric is a Denyse Schmidt print called “Flea Market Fancy” that I bought last year from fabric.com,now only available in grey (I do have the grey in my stash for a winter dress). However for those in Australia, this print in other colours has just come into the Spotlight stores in a Cotton Linen. No acknowledgement to the designer on that one though.

IMG_3740

When the Belladone pattern came out, I knew this fabric would be perfect and I really wanted to pick out the red with the piping detail of the pattern.  This time instead of using bias binding, I made flat piping and used this for all the trimming.

IMG_3757

I had previously used the Colette method of making bias strips, however I find that this results in lots of seam lines which I find annoying especially if you are using it as bias. This time I used my method which I find eliminates this issue.  I had bought half a metre of the trim fabric. Then using my metal ruler as a guide, cut strips on the bias. My ruler is the perfect width so I can use one side to line up against and the other as the cutting guide. These strips are usually long enough to use individually, but of course can be joined if necessary.

IMG_3703

Aside from that, my construction of the dress was as per the pattern with no changes from previously.

IMG_3753

This is my third version of this pattern, my others are here and here. Clearly I am a fan of this pattern, but just how many are too many?  How long before non-sewers notice that I have several versions of the same dress? (The pattern is quite distinctive) Who cares?? I like it and why mess with a good thing? 🙂

Do you have a pattern that you are in love with and make over and over, or do you like to try new things? Me, sometimes I like the variety of trying a new pattern, other times it is nice to return to a favourite for a good reliable make.

Details:
Pattern – Belladone by Deer & Doe
Fabric – 2.2m of cotton from fabric.com
Notions – piping fabric, zipper & thread from my stash

Stash update:
New total = 162.3m

41 thoughts on “How many Belladones is too many?

  1. That is so cute on you! I love it. Perfect fabric and suits you beautifully, especially the colour 😉 Have you been checking up on your colour chart again? You inspired me to look mine and my daughters up. I’ve mentioned you in a post coming soon.

  2. Can never have too many – for the past wee while I seem to make everything twice and if you count the muslin that would be three. Each one I try and make it look different from the other so you can’t tell too much that it is the same pattern. I love the red piping on your dress – the perfect touch!

  3. I kind of have the same conundrum with Moss Minis, but to be honest I’m not sure how many people actually pay that much attention to what others are wearing. I think we’re more conscious of it because a) we make what we wear (& therefore it must be great 😀 ) & b) we are either consciously or unconsciously checking out people’s clothes for inspiration. Anyway, I reckon if you love it, go for gold ’cause you’ll feel happy in it & that’s when we look our best! Looking forward to seeing MORRRRE fabulous Belladones from you 🙂

  4. This colour looks fab on you, and if it makes you feel good then wear it, colour chart or no colour chart. I must say I’m enjoying the fabric/ stash updates too. One of my pet hates is having excess fabric left over from a
    project which inevitably is never enough to quite make something else, but too much to throw away as scraps.

    1. I completely understand regarding having excess fabric left over. Depending on the fabric, sometimes I keep it for pockets, linings etc otherwise I collect it in a bag for giving to a friend whose mother makes quilts for charity

  5. I’m firmly in the ‘never too many’ camp. If you love a fit and style then keep on reinventing them in different versions – they’re always lovely to look at. I love this colourway with the lush piping.

  6. The answer to your question is that there are never too many! I love this pattern too, and intend to make one in cotton for what laughingly passes as summer in the UK! I’m on the look out for a bright, bold print. Yours is gorgeous. I love the fabric, and the red piping at the waist. It really sets the dress off. I must remember that!

  7. Never too many and this dress is such a gorgeous fit on you. Love the piping contrast, it’s a beautiful dress x

  8. Pardon my French but who the hell cares what we all think? LOL!! Personally, I think you can never have enough clothing that makes you feel perfect, and the beauty of sewing is being able to replicate our favourites over and over. After 3 years of sewing I am still only starting to find my TNT patterns, so I say if you find one then use it obsessively – I know I will!! ^__^

  9. This is a great dress! I think you should continue making more of them – it’s very flattering on you and the color is fabulous. Love the red piping. g

  10. I love this dress, the fabric is great and I love the cut out detail on the back. How many is too many – when you can’t shut your cupboard door is probably time to stop.

  11. Never too many…. This one is my favorite.. Love the fabric, and this style just looks so well on you.. Happy sewing.

  12. Hey I am so thrilled I found your website, I really found you by
    error, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post
    and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added
    in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back
    to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome jo.

Leave a comment